Menu
Articles in this section
- Permissions & Users: FAQ
- SSO/SAML: FAQ
- Simple vs Advanced Permissions
- Advanced Permissions Guide
- Advanced Permissions: Organization-Wide Sharing
- Advanced Permissions: Profiles
- Advanced Permissions: Roles
- Advanced Permissions: Sharing Rules
- How to create a team
- Granting or removing export permissions
Read-Only Users
Updated
A read-only user can view records without changing or deleting them.
On this page:
The read-only license
Read-only users are for people who need to see data but not edit it. It is a seat type for Enterprise-tier accounts only.
Read-only users can:
- Receive notifications on records they’re following
- Leave comments or @mention team members for collaboration
- View dashboards
- Run saved reports
- Create and save list views
Read-only users cannot:
- Update permissions
- Be an administrator
- Create, edit, or delete records
- Be assigned a lead, task, project, or opportunity
- Import or export data
- Create or modify dashboards or reports
Creating a read-only user
Under Advanced Permissions, read-only access is granted through a profile that permits reading but not creating, editing, or deleting. Read-only users can only be created when using Advanced Permissions.
- Confirm your account is set to Advanced Permissions on the System Settings > Permissions page.
- Set up a profile called Read-Only from the Permissions > Profiles page. You can do this by cloning the Standard User profile and unchecking all the boxes except for those in the Read column. You can further limit the records the user can see by unchecking the Read box next to each record type.
- Add the user to Insightly.
- Click the user’s name to view their details.
- Click the Edit User button.
- Select the Read-Only profile you created in step 2.
- Click Save User Details.
|
1 Switching Between Simple and Advanced Permissions |
2 Clone Profile Permissions Setup in Insightly CRM |
|
3 Editing a User Profile in Insightly |
4 Selecting Read-Only Profile in User Details |
Related to